Meeting Register Page

Demystifying Diplomatic Communication in Early Modern Russia
Among the abundant paperwork of 17th century Posol'skii prikaz, there were two main forms of record-keeping known as posol'skie knigi and stolptsy, which stand out due to their functionality. Apart from the sheer linguistic complexity, the records were bound together in leather-bound books consisting of dozens, if not hundreds, documents of the distinct genres related to diplomacy communications. Yet beneath this complexity lies a world of diplomatic contact and transregional connectivity. This workshop will offer a practical crash course for how to make sense of this challenging source base.

PREREQUISITE
Advanced Russian

INSTRUCTOR
Ulfat Abdurasulov
Postdoctoral Research Fellow
Institute of Iranian Studies
Austrian Academy of Science

COLLABORATOR
James Pickett
Assistant Professor of History
University of Pittsburgh

Registrations Limited

Thursday, June 24
12:00-1:30pm (EDT)/ 11:00 a.m.-12:30 p.m. (CDT) | 5:00-6:30 p.m. (GMT) | 6:00-7:30 p.m. (CET) | 7:00-8:30 p.m. (EEST/MSK)

Jun 24, 2021 12:00 PM in Eastern Time (US and Canada)

Loading
* Required information